Codes of Italian municipalities, provinces and regions

Istat carries out periodic verifications with Regional Administrations during the year to record all of the territorial and administrative changes which take place throughout the country and which are documented by the relevant legislative provision (e.g.: Regional Law) published in an official institutional document (e.g. The Official Gazette or the Regional Bulletin).

Further updates will be published during different periods from the above-mentioned ones to ensure the prompt publication of any administration-related information of relevance to institutional Bodies and of interest to all users, both public and private.

Following the adoption of “Regulation (EC) no. 1059/2003 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 26th May 2003 on the establishment of a common classification of territorial units for statistics (NUTS)”, this classification has been adopted.

Provision has in fact been made for the dual use of the Italian and French names for the Region and province of Valle d’Aosta/Vallée d’Aoste and the use of the “/” separator for municipalities with names in two languages in the province of Bolzano/Bozen.

The lists of codes (Italian municipalities, former municipalities, previous names, codes for the new municipalities, administrative and geographical changes to municipalities since 1991, codes and names of geographical macro-areas, provinces and regions) are available in Italian.

municipalities, provinces, regions, territory
document typology:
Reference period
On June 30th 2010
Date of publication
24 June 2010
Yes No